The Carneddau

The Carneddau group of mountains make up the largest continuous area of high ground in Wales and England.

The Carneddau from the north-east, showing the Llugwy-Ogwen gap

The range is bounded by the coast to the north, the Conway valley to the east, and the Ogwen valley to the west and south. Over twenty of its peaks surpass 600m and six of these are amongst the highest peaks in the country. The Carneddau, meaning 'the cairns', covers a vast area of nearly 200sq km.

The Carneddau

Peaks in the Carneddau which surpass 3,000feet

* Carnedd Llywellyn - 1064m

*Carnedd Dafyddd - 1040m

*Pen Ole Wen - 978m

*Foel Grach - 976m

*Yr Elen - 962m

*Foel Gras - 942m

Garnedd Uchaf - 926m

The Carneddau

Carnedd Llywelyn, the second highest peak in Wales after Snowdon reaches 3,458' (1064m), slightly lower is its neighbour Carnedd Dafydd at 3,427' (1044m). The former peak is thought to derive its name from the renowned thirteenth century Prince of Wales, Llywelyn the Great. The rare and fragile montane heath can only be found on the highest summits of the Carneddau.


The range encompasses a number of lakes in its deep valleys including Llyn Cowlyd and Llyn Eigiau.

Stay safe by following a few simple rules

* Obtain a reliable local weather forecast prior to setting off and plan a route suitable to those conditions.

* Check your equipment before leaving, take waterproofs, warm spare clothing, hat and gloves, food, drink, a map, a compass and a survival bag.

*Learn basic mountain skills, particularly navigation.

* If weather conditions turn bad, turn back.

* Don't rely on mobile phones.


Lllyn Ogwen

The Glyderau

Back to Top